DRIVER'S EDUCATION INFORMATION
Driver's Education Registration changes for the 2017-2018 school year
Registration for classes will begin August 7. Students who will be 14 years and 6 months on or before the last class day are eligible for Driver's Education classroom.
Classroom Session Options for 2017-2018
October 25 - November 13, 2:50-5:50 pm (No class on Oct. 27, Nov. 3, 6 and 10)
January 11 - January 29, 2:50-5:50 pm (No class on Jan. 12, 19 and 26)
February 8 - February 26, 2:50-5:50 pm (No class on Feb. 9, 16 and 23)
April 4 - May 18, 7-8 am (No class on April 13, 27 and May 11)
Classroom - $160
Behind the Wheel - $195
Combined Classroom and Behind the Wheel - $340 (reduced fee)
Starting June 1 for Behind the Wheel and for the summer classroom sessions the fees for Driver's Ed. will be increasing.
Here is the new fee structure:
Classroom - $175
Behind the Wheel - $215
Combined Classroom and Behind the Wheel fee - $375
Parent/Guardian and New Driver classes offered at no cost during the 2017-2018 school year:
Thursday, Nov. 2, 6:30-8:00 pm
Monday, Jan. 29, 6:30-8:00 pm
Wednesday, April 11, 6:30-8:00 pm
Graduated Driver License Law
Graduated Driver License Law
All Driver's Education Parent Meeting dates can be found on our online registration system under Adult Enrichment. Students are strongly encouraged to attend with their parent. Pre-registration including your child's full legal name is recommended so certificates of completion can be completed prior to the start of the class. Walk-ins are welcome but parents may need to wait after the class is concluded for a certificate to be completed., the state requires that we have at least 20 students for an examiner to administer the test at the school. If we do not have 20 students, blue cards will be issued and students will need to take the permit test as their schedule allows at a state testing location. At this testing session students must provide a certified Birth Certificate and a Secondary Identification Document (listed on pages 3 and 4 of the Minnesota Driver’s Manual, which can be accessed at https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs). If students successfully complete and pass the written exam and have provided all of the documentation that is required, they will be issued a temporary paper, which is proof of passing the written test. Individuals are then required to present the “proof of passing” temporary paper and the same ID's they used for the written test at a license facility that has a camera (The License Center, 1506 W. Main St., Red Wing) and pass and eye exam. The Minnesota Driver’s License/Identification Card Application and fee ($12.00) for the instruction permit will be collected at the time a picture is taken for the instruction permit. (At this time a parent must be present to sign and have the application notarized.)
At the completion of the class, a permit testing session will be scheduled at the high school for all participating students
Red Wing Community Education offers Driver's Education classroom for individuals who will be 14 years and 6 months by the last day of the class. The classroom training consists of 30 hours of instruction from a Driver’s Education Instructor. Classes are offered before school (when instructors are available) in the spring, after school in the fall, and winter and a couple of sessions in the summer. Students are required to attend all 30 hours of the class and are not allowed to miss any meeting dates. If you are unable to complete the 30 hours you will be issued a refund of $110. You will need to need to complete the registration process again when the next class is offered.
If students do not pass the written exam, they will need to stop and pick up a classroom completion card at the Community Education Office (2451 Eagle Ridge Drive, Red Wing) and retake the permit test at a state testing site. These sites and hours can be located at the Driver and Vehicle Services Division WEB site: https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs
Behind-The-Wheel Driver's Education
Requirements and Registration:
After receiving the Instruction Permit, there is a 6-month waiting period prior to taking the Road Test. During this 6 months, students must complete 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction. The cost is $195 and is payable at the time of registration for the class or at the completion of the classroom at the Red Wing Community Education Office, 2451 Eagle Ridge Drive, Red Wing, MN, 55066. After receipt of payment, a behind-the-wheel instructor will contact the students to establish a schedule for the 6 hours of driving instruction. (Payment must be received prior to contact by instructor.) Students are contacted in the order payment was received.
Missed Driving Sessions
If you miss a scheduled driving session, it is your responsibility to contact your instructor and schedule your next driving time. If a second scheduled driving session is missed there will be a $25 missed appointment fee that will be accessed. The original driving schedule you set up will need to be changed and the final or 6th hour of driving will not be given until the missed appointment fee has been paid. This fee can be paid to the instructor and if you are writing a check it should be made out to ISD #256, a receipt will be given for the payment.
The instructors believe in providing the most effective education possible developing drivers who are well equipped to handle situations that arise every time they get behind the wheel. To this end, whenever possible, they try to avoid doing more than one lesson at a time. They have found that it is difficult for the students to concentrate fully for longer than a one-hour session. Also, there is no time to practice lessons adequately if students are rushed through the program. The goal is to provide quality Driver Education to students. Sound educational practices dictate that a certain amount of time is needed to obtain this goal.
Upon completion of 6 hours behind-the-wheel instruction, students must pick up a white completion card at the Community Education Office. (Student signature is required.) This white card must be presented along with the driving permit in order to take the Road Test. Students must have participated in at least 30 hours of supervised driving (10 hours should be at night) prior to taking the road test. Road test appointments must be scheduled at one of the road test sites throughout the state. These test sites can be accessed at The Driver and Vehicle Services Division website: https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs. There is a $10 fee per card for a duplicate blue/white card.
Driver and Vehicle Services Division (DVS) Web Site